Nostalgia

we interrupt the usual posts to bring you…one on food.

I recently posted on a friend’s Facebook page that I had a craving for something called Frog Eye Salad.

I know. It sounds disgusting, doesn’t it?

When I was a teaching assistant in college, the secretary for the department I worked for made this salad. And somehow, a little container always showed up for me! I didn’t know how I was so lucky – I knew that I wasn’t her favorite, by far – but somehow, that container of deliciousness kept me sustained through the holiday season, far from home.

I’m pretty sure it’s a Utah thing, as I’d never heard of it before, and I’ve not encountered it since outside of Mormon functions. That said, I think there will be some frog eye salad in my future.

I searched for a recipe online and found one, courtesy of a blog called The Saturday Evening Pot. So, here you go:

Frog Eye Salad

Ingredients:
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 3/4 cups pineapple juice (use from juice reserved from pineapples)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 16-ounce package acini de pepe
  • 2 11-ounce cans mandarin oranges, drained
  • 1 20-ounce can crushed pineapple, drain and reserve juice
  • 2 20-ounce cans pineapple chunks, drain and reserve juice
  • 1 9-ounce carton whipped cream
  • marshmallows, coconut – optional (we did not use)
Directions:

  1. Combine sugar and flour and gradually stir in pineapple juice and eggs.
  2. Cook over moderate heat, stirring until thickened.
  3. Add lemon juice and cool mixture to room temperature.
  4. Cook acini de pepe according to package instructions.  Drain, rinse, and cool to room temperature.
  5. Add egg mixture, mix lightly, and store in air tight container in refrigerator.
  6. Add remaining ingredients prior to serving.  May be kept several days in refrigerator ahead of time.

 

Leave a Reply

