Life Could Be a Dream

I’ve been quiet lately. Life is good, and sometimes, the voice is silent because it doesn’t need to speak – and because the speaker may be too busy to draw breath!

***

O’s favorite song is “Life Could Be a Dream (Sh-Boom)” from the Cars soundtrack. When we get into the car, both kids ask for “Cars Music,” but O’s sweet little voice can be heard singing along as best as he can.

Sometimes, he even gets all the words out correctly.

As I drove today, I listened to the words and realized they were a perfect metaphor for my life with my family:

Life could be a dream.
If only all my precious plans would come true;
If you would let me spend my whole life loving you
Life could be a dream, sweetheart.

I drive, knowing that life is good. And busy. And peaceful, recent small issues notwithstanding (that shall not be discussed at present). We’ve just left McDonald’s and Target. O is snorting at a box of Angry Birds toys in the backseat; Mimi has chosen a pumpkin knife and fork set as her “prize.” It’s gently raining, and there’s not a thing to do on my radar.

Life could definitely be a dream.

The music begins to swell toward the song’s climax, and I hear O chime in loudly, “Ohhhhh….”

Life could be a dream 
If I could take you up in paradise up above;
If you would tell me I’m the only one that you love
Life could be a dream, sweetheart.

And my heart is full. I have two beautiful children, both of whom amaze me every day – my son with his growth and his heart, and my daughter with her strength of will and her kindness. He teaches her, and she teaches him, and they both teach me and S every day. I have a wonderful job with kind, generous, helpful coworkers. I have awesome friends, a snug house, and a generous God who reminds me everyday of His love for me.

Life could be a dream? Life is a dream, more like.

Sh-boom.

Leave a Reply

